Safety Reminder: School Back in Session, Keep Speeds Down

School will begin for students in the Woodburn School District this week. The Woodburn Police Department would like to remind everyone to follow the laws whether you are driving a vehicle, riding a bicycle or walking.

It is important that everyone use extra care and patience when traveling. If you have children that will be walking or riding a bicycle to/from school, please take a moment and talk with them about the rules and being safe. Also, remind them about strangers and to notify their teacher and/or parent if a stranger approaches them on the way to or from school. If you drive a vehicle, please take a moment and reacquaint yourself with Oregon driving laws.

Here are a few things to remember:

  • The speed limit in a school zone is 20 mph. Depending on the sign ("When lights are flashing," during the 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. timeframe or "When Children are Present") will determine when the 20 mph speed limit is enforced. 
  • All occupants in a motor vehicle must properly use a child safety seat, booster seat or seat belt, which properly fits them in the seat being used. 
  • Everyone who is under 16 years old must properly wear an approved bicycle helmet when operating a bicycle. 
  • Vehicles must yield to a person in a marked or unmarked crosswalk. The driver must yield to the pedestrian when the pedestrian is in the same lane as the vehicle or a lane adjacent to the lane the vehicle is in. If the crosswalk has a pedestrian signal, a driver must wait until the pedestrian is more than six feet from the lane the vehicle is in.
  • When a school bus is stopped on a roadway with the red bus safety lights flashing, vehicles must stop, and remain stopped while the red bus safety lights are flashing, before reaching the school bus.  This applies to any school bus that is on the same roadway as your vehicle, unless there is a physical barrier between you and the school bus.

Officers will focus on these and other safety violations beginning Aug. 29th. If you would like more information please refer to the Oregon Driving Manual, available from any DMV office or online.

Blog Categories: